Stoic News

By Dave Kelly

Thursday, April 08, 2004

Encyclopoedia4U: Seven deadly sins

"The seven deadly sins are:

- lust - seeking sex for pleasure; overindulgence in sex; fornication
- avarice or greed - a desire to possess more than one has need or use for
- envy or covetousness - resentment of others for their possessions; competitiveness (Note: jealousy is a related vice, but not generally listed as one of the seven deadly sins.)
- pride or vanity- a desire to be important or attractive to others
- sloth (also accidie, acedia) - laziness; idleness
- gluttony - eating for pleasure; overindulgence in food, drink or intoxicants
- anger or wrath - uncontrollable feelings of resentment, revenge or even denial."


Post a Comment

<< Home